

Hardin County Emergency Management Commission Minutes

April 16th, 2019

Hardin County Courthouse, Eldora, IA

Supervisor: Lance Granzow Owasa: James Nehring

Sheriff: Dave McDaniel (Chair) Radcliffe: Taylor Roll/Ben Krause

Ackley: Pat Daggs Steamboat Rock:

Buckeye: Union:

Eldora: Dave Dunn Whitten: Bill Lott

Hubbard: Iowa Falls: Gene Newgaard/Chief Wade Harken (Vice Chair)

Alden: Jeff Fiscus New Providence: Terry Beare

Guests: Matt Rezab, Darrell Meyer (County Attorney), Jensen Connor (Iowa Homeland Security),

Thomas Craighton, Dawn Craighton,

- 1. Called the meeting to order @ 6:54pm
- 2. **Approval of the Agenda:** Motion by BEARE, 2nd by KRAUSE, motion passes
- Approval of minutes from March 19th, 2019 meeting: Motion by DAGGS, 2nd by DUNN, motion carries
- 4. **Alert Iowa presentation:** Program Manager Jensen CONNER. Program is free of cost, CONNOR will assist the EMA in getting Hardin County set up. System isn't perfect, however most issues have been ironed out over the past 5yrs. Will work with EMA to get all paperwork completed. Establish a webpage that can be hosted on the State site, as well as any other site the Commission would deem appropriate.

The public can "opt" in to the program to receive messages/information on specific locations/weather alerts/special needs etc

Administrative rights can be designated to other staff members, and can control who is sending messages.

Examples of messages used; boil orders, standoff/hostage situations, Amber Alert, weather alerts, road closures (WENS is quite liberal on its usage)

88 counties currently using the WENS system

Voice messaging, SMS messaging, Email messaging

The county has to "accept" and EMA becomes administrator, then roll out to the remainder of the county.

Request discussion with possible action be placed on next months agenda

5. **Discussion of the applicants:** The applications of ten was narrowed down to five based on qualifications/resumes, lack of appropriate information provided etc. Out of the five that were selected, one candidate withdrew from contention the week of interviews, so four people were interviewed.

Out of the four applicants, three wished to have the process discussed in closed session, one chose to have the discussion in open session.

Because individuals on the Commission applied for the position, a panel of three was established, which consisted of an Executive Board Member from the Iowa Fire Fighters Association, the Chief Deputy from the Black Hawk County Sheriff's Office and the County Auditor from Bremer County.

Applicant #1 had a very good background, not currently operating in an EMA capacity, EMS/Fire background, grant writing experience. Individual was very enthusiastic and passionate.

A scoring system was utilized on each applicant with a possible of 50 points per applicant. Applicant #1 received a score of 30 points. The low score was based on geographical location, no local ties, and that the applicant had goals of state/federal level within 5 years.

6. Closed session under Iowa Code Section 21.5 (1) (i): Motion by NEWGAARD, 2nd by DUNN, motion carries, entered closed session at 7:18pm. Discussed the remaining three applicants.

Motion to enter open session: Motion by KRAUSE, 2nd by NEWGAARD, motion carries.

7. **Open session:** Motion by DUNN, to extend an offer to Thomas CRAIGHTON, for a salary of \$50,000.00, 2nd by KRAUSE. Prorated at the current year, with 180 days to move into Hardin County.

ROLL CALL VOTE: Ackley: YES

Alden: YES

Buckeye: ABSENT

Hubbard: ABSENT

New Providence: YES
Owasa: YES
Radcliffe: YES

Steamboat Rock: ABSENT

Whitten: YES lowa Falls: YES Hardin County: YES Eldora: YES

MOTION CARRIES

8. **Public Comment:** Thomas CRAIGHTON, accepted the position. Would be giving a 30 day notice to Franklin County. Question regarding vacation and sick leave. GRANZOW suggested the Chair to contact the Mike GALLOWAY with the County HR Firm for an opinion.

Motion by DAGGS that upon approval, the Commission offer CRAIGHTON 80 hours to use for sick or vacation, 2nd by KRAUSE. Motion carries.

- 9. **Next meeting May 21st, 2019**, Motion by KRAUSE, 2nd by DAGGS, motion carries
- 10. **Motion to adjourn:** Motion by FISCUS, 2nd by NEWGAARD, motion carries